Diocese Home Heritage Home Index Search Help

Introduction   St Nicholas'   Churches

Break up of parishes

In Medieval Limerick, there were five parishes in Limerick City; St John's, St Mary's, St Michael's, St Munchin's and St Patrick's.

In recent times, the boundaries of these parishes have been altered to form the following parishes:

St Mary's was divided into St Mary's and St Nicholas' (1991).
St Michael's was divided into St Michael's, Our Lady of Lourdes (1963), St Joseph's (1973) and St Saviour's (1973).
St Munchin's was divided into St Munchin's, Our Lady of the Rosary (1964), Christ the King (1970) and Corpus Christi (1976).
St Patrick's was divided into St Patrick's, Monaleen (1971), and Our Lady Help of Christians (1981).
St John's parish has not been altered.
St Paul's was formerly part of the parish of Mungret/Crecora and was created in 1971.
Our Lady Queen of Peace (1961) and Holy Family (1970) were formerly part of the parish of Donaghmore/Knockea.

Additional information:

St Nicholas' church was between St Mary's Cathedral and King John's Castle. St Nicholas' was joined with the parish of St Mary's in Fr MacMahon's time as parish priest in 1741 or thereabouts. The church of St Nicholas is mentioned in the Black Book of Limerick and was used by sailors and merchants. It was believed to have been a low roofed church with a parallel nave and had disappeared by the end of the 17th century.

Heritage Project Home | St Nicholas' Home | Back to Top

Introduction      Churches